Empath observed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Empath observed

I'd like to preface this with what might be the obvious. I'm not a scientist. I have not wandered/stumbled into this place randomly, though.

I'm driven by curiosity about experiences I have both had myself, and seen/witnessed my husband have. There were no double-blind studies or peer reviewed research publications attached to these experiences. In that corner, I got "nuthin'."

So, experience is what fired my curiosity, not some made-for-TV drivel, or new age book I read. And, it might be good, although fairly meaningless, to assert here that I am not making this up, or exaggerating.

I have NO ideas what mechanism is behind the events. (There are many events.) I do know that they happened. And to me, they defy any rational explanation. This, however, does not stop them from becoming part of my truth. It's either that, or concluding both I and my husband are delusional. There are no other signs of that, by the way.

My husband discovered only recently that what he is, is an empath. We hadn't really heard this term before he found it someplace online. But it fits. I will describe one of many experiences he had that I was witness to. He has learned, over time to always tell someone when he is hit with this. He does this before he does much else. It helps him come to grips with these things when he has corroboration.

He feels other peoples' emotions on occasion. Sometimes they overwhelm him while he is sleeping and he wakes up. Sometimes, the trigger seems to be a photograph - even of a stranger. But he doesn't just understand how they are feeling. He feels how they are feeling.